Get the kayak out

IMG_2607

It’s early October and though the leaves are turning beautiful colors, this display of kayaks caught my attention. They’re all locked up and put away, but on a warm day like this, I say “Release the Kayaks!” The river is flat, it’s low tide and the time is right to get out on the water. Of course, I’m saying this to myself, wishing I actually owned one of these toys. You can bet I would be out there having left from this exact spot.

IMG_2612 (1)

The Harvest Moon made for extreme tides and it’s almost possible to walk out beyond the markers. I noticed a few fishermen, but overall I had the marina to myself. Pretty soon, the boats will come in and be winterized, but I’m saddened to see a spectacular day passing by and all those kayaks on dry dock. Maybe I’ll put a bright pink kayak on my Christmas list. Who knows, that big jolly elf could surprise me.

IMG_2604

Leave a comment